The history of the Eisch family

The glassmaking tradition
The glassmaking tradition of the Eisch family can be traced back to Mathias Alesch, born in the Bohemian Forest in 1689, who is listed here on the list of employees of a small glassworks.
The founder
The founder of Glashütte Eisch, Valentin Eisch, had been working as a master engraver in the crystal glass factory of Kommerzienrat Isidor Gistl since 1914. In 1946, together with his wife Therese, he founded his own finishing business to provide a livelihood for his six children.
Emergence of competition
The existing Bayerwald glassworks soon feared the emergence of competition. They wanted to prevent this by blocking the supply of raw glass to the Eischs. This forced the Eisch family to set up their own glass production.
Bavaria's youngest and smallest glassworks
In December 1952, the first glass was melted in what was then the youngest and smallest glassworks in Bavaria. Despite major initial difficulties, the glassworks was expanded to a 12-port furnace as early as 1956. Thanks to the co-operation of all family members and employees, a continuous upward trend began.
Erwin Eisch
Erwin Eisch († 2022) was a pioneer and spiritual father of the studio glass movement in Europe. He was an important driving force and "lateral thinker" for the glassworks.
Poetry in glass
Based on Erwin Eisch's free-blown glass, the unique series "Poetry in Glass" was created in 1977: collector's and collector's items in flowing shapes, which were designed into artistic objects using a wide variety of kiln and cold glass techniques.
No. 1 among glass manufacturers
Glashütte Eisch built up an excellent reputation among its customers. When the German glass and porcelain trade chose their preferred industrial partners, Eisch often came first among all German glass manufacturers.
Chancellor visit
In 1997, the then Chancellor Helmut Kohl was a guest at Glashütte Eisch. Erwin Eisch presented him with the glass portrait head "Helmut Kohl".
Family-run for generations
Today, Glashütte Eisch is still entirely family-owned and is managed by Julia Eisch and Eberhard Eisch in the third generation. Together with Florian Eichinger (4th generation, son of Julia Eisch), they are building on the diverse experience and craftsmanship of the past and are now turning the company into a modern and innovative glass manufacturer.
SENSISPLUS Glass
With the SENSISPLUS glasses, Glashütte Eisch has achieved a milestone in the development of wine glasses. In the SENSISPLUS glass, the wine experiences an unexpected development of flavours, which triggers enthusiasm and astonishment in equal measure in the wine world. Eberhard Eisch describes his experience with the SENSISPLUS glasses as follows: "With this glass, I am looking to the future of wine!"
International expansion
With a consistent brand strategy that emphasises individuality and innovation, Glashütte Eisch is also successful on foreign markets. Today, more than 50% of total production is exported to over 60 countries worldwide.
Previous slide
Next slide

Julia Eisch, her son Florian Eichinger and Eberhard Eisch

Alfons Eisch mit der Glastrompete bei der Führung durch die Eisch-Produktionswerkstätten

Alfons Eisch

Die Geschichte der Familie Eisch

Die Glasmacher-Tradition
Die Glasmacher-Tradition der Familie Eisch ist erforscht bis zu dem 1689 im Böhmerwald geborenen Mathias Alesch, der hier auf der Beschäftigten-Liste einer kleinen Glashütte aufgeführt ist.
Der Gründer
Der Gründer der Glashütte Eisch, Valentin Eisch, war seit 1914 als Graveurmeister in der Kristallglasfabrik des Kommerzienrats Isidor Gistl beschäftigt. 1946 gründete er zusammen mit seiner Frau Therese einen eigenen Veredelungsbetrieb, um seinen sechs Kindern eine Existenz aufzubauen.
Entstehung einer Konkurrenz
Bald schon befürchteten die bestehenden Bayerwald-Glashütten die Entstehung einer Konkurrenz. Dies wollten sie verhindern, indem sie die Belieferung der Eischs mit Rohglas blockierten. So sah sich die Familie Eisch gezwungen, eine eigene Glasproduktion aufzubauen.
Jüngste und kleinste Glashütte Bayerns
Im Dezember 1952 wurde in der damals jüngsten und kleinsten Glashütte Bayerns das erste Glas geschmolzen. Trotz großer Anfangsschwierigkeiten konnte die Hütte bereits 1956 zu einem 12-Hafen-Ofen erweitert werden. Durch das Zusammenwirken aller Familienmitglieder und der Mitarbeiter setzte eine kontinuierliche Aufwärtsentwicklung ein.
Erwin Eisch
Erwin Eisch († 2022) war Wegbereiter und geistiger Vater der Studio-Glas-Bewegung in Europa. Für die Glashütte war er ein wichtiger Impulsgeber und “Querdenker”.
Poesie in Glas
In Anlehnung an Erwin Eischs frei geblasenes Glas entstand 1977 die Unikatserie “Poesie in Glas”: Sammler- und Liebhaberstücke in fließenden Formen, die mit den verschiedensten Ofen- und Kaltglastechniken zu kunstvollen Objekten gestaltet wurden.
Nr. 1 unter den Glasherstellern
Die Glashütte Eisch erarbeitete sich einen hervorragenden Namen bei ihren Kunden. Bei der Wahl der bevorzugten Industriepartner durch den deutschen Glas-Porzellan-Fachhandel erreichte Eisch vielfach den ersten Platz unter allen deutschen Glasherstellern.
Kanzler Besuch
1997 war der damalige Kanzler Helmut Kohl in der Glashütte Eisch zu Gast. Erwin Eisch überreichte ihm den gläsernen Porträt-Kopf „Helmut Kohl“.
Familiengeführt über Generationen
Die Glashütte Eisch befindet sich auch heute vollständig in Familienbesitz und wird von Julia Eisch und Eberhard Eisch in der dritten Generation geführt. Zusammen mit Florian Eichinger (4. Generation, Sohn von Julia Eisch) bauen sie auf die vielfältigen Erfahrungen und das handwerkliche Wissen der Vergangenheit auf und richten das Unternehmen heute zu einem modernen und innovativen Glashersteller aus.
SENSISPLUS Glas
Mit den SENSISPLUS Gläsern gelang der Glashütte Eisch ein Meilenstein in der Entwicklung von Weingläsern. Im SENSISPLUS Glas erlebt der Wein eine ungeahnte Entwicklung der Aromen, was in der Weinwelt Begeisterung und Erstaunen gleichermaßen auslöst. Eberhard Eisch beschreibt seine Erfahrung mit den SENSISPLUS Gläsern so: „Mit diesem Glas blicke ich in die Zukunft des Weines!“
Internationale Expansion
Mit einer konsequenten Marken-Strategie, die auf Individualität und Innovation setzt, ist die Glashütte Eisch auch auf Auslandsmärkten erfolgreich. Heute werden mehr als 50% der gesamten Produktion in über 60 Länder weltweit exportiert.
Vorheriges Dia
Nächste Folie

Julia Eisch, ihr Sohn Florian Eichinger und Eberhard Eisch

Alfons Eisch mit der Glastrompete bei der Führung durch die Eisch-Produktionswerkstätten

Alfons Eisch