The history of the Eisch Family

The glass-making tradition

The glass-making tradition of the Eisch Family has been traced back to Mathias Alesch, born in the Bohemian Forest in 1689 and listed among the employees of a small glassworks there.

The founder

The founder of Glashütte Eisch, Valentin Eisch, had been employed since 1914 as a master engraver in the crystal glass factory of Industrialist Isidor Gistl. In 1946 Valentin Eisch founded his own finishing plant together with his wife Therese in order to secure a living for his six children.

Emergence of competition

Before long the existing glassworks in the Bavarian Forest feared that competition was about to appear on the scene. They tried to prevent this by blocking the delivery of raw glass to the Eischs. The Eisch family therefore saw itself compelled to establish its own glass production.

The latest and smallest glassworks in Bavaria

In December 1952 the first glass was smelted in what was at the time the latest and smallest glassworks in Bavaria. In spite of initial difficulties, by 1956 the glassworks had expanded to a 12-pot furnace. The interaction between the family members and the employees resulted in a continuous upward progression.

Erwin Eisch

Erwin Eisch was the pioneer and guiding spirit  of the studio glass movement in Europe. He was an important source of inspiration and “lateral thinker”.

Poetry in Glass

Based on Erwin Eisch’s free hand-blown glass, the series of unique items “Poetry in Glass” was created in 1977: pieces for collectors and glass-lovers with flowing forms which were formed into artistic objects using a wide range of firing and cold glass techniques.

No. 1 among the glass manufacturers

Glashütte Eisch earned itself an excellent reputation among its customers. In the selection of preferred industrial partners by the German Glass and China Specialist Retail Association, Eisch has achieved first place seven times during the past ten years among all German glass manufacturers.

Visit from the Federal Chancellor

In 1997 the Federal Chancellor of the time, Helmut Kohl, was a guest at Glashütte Eisch. Erwin Eisch presented him with the glass portrait head “Helmut Kohl”.

Third generation

Glashütte Eisch is still entirely owned by the family to this day. It is currently run by the third generation. Julia Eisch and Eberhard Eisch continue to build on the extensive experience and artisanal skills of the past and are now focusing on transforming the company into a modern and innovative glassworks.

SENSISPLUS Glass

With the creation of SENSISPLUS glasses, Glashütte Eisch achieved a milestone in the development of wine glasses. In a SENSISPLUS glass the wine undergoes an unprecedented development of aromas which has sparked off enthusiasm and astonishment in the world of wine. Eberhard Eisch describes his experience with SENSISPLUS glasses like this: “In this glass I can see into the future of wine!”

International expansion

With its systematic brand strategy focusing on individuality and innovation, Glashütte Eisch is also successful in overseas markets. Today more than 50% of the total production is exported to over 60 countries worldwide.

Ein kleiner Teil der Familie Eisch: Alfons Eisch, Julia Eisch, Eberhard Eisch, Florian Eichinger, Erich Eisch, Michael Eichinger, Lisa Eichinger

A small part of the Eisch Family: Alfons Eisch, Julia Eisch (daughter of Alfons Eisch), Eberhard Eisch (son of Erich Eisch), Florian (son of Julia Eisch), Erich Eisch, Michael and Lisa (son and daughter of Julia Eisch)

Die Geschichte der Familie Eisch

Die Glasmacher-Tradition

Die Glasmacher-Tradition der Familie Eisch ist erforscht bis zu dem 1689 im Böhmerwald geborenen Mathias Alesch, der hier auf der Beschäftigten-Liste einer kleinen Glashütte aufgeführt ist.

Der Gründer

Der Gründer der Glashütte Eisch, Valentin Eisch, war seit 1914 als Graveurmeister in der Kristallglasfabrik des Kommerzienrats Isidor Gistl beschäftigt. 1946 gründete er zusammen mit seiner Frau Therese einen eigenen Veredelungsbetrieb, um seinen sechs Kindern eine Existenz aufzubauen.

Entstehung einer Konkurrenz

Bald schon befürchteten die bestehenden Bayerwald-Glashütten die Entstehung einer Konkurrenz. Dies wollten sie verhindern, indem sie die Belieferung der Eischs mit Rohglas blockierten. So sah sich die Familie Eisch gezwungen, eine eigene Glasproduktion aufzubauen.

Jüngste und kleinste Glashütte Bayerns

Im Dezember 1952 wurde in der damals jüngsten und kleinsten Glashütte Bayerns das erste Glas geschmolzen. Trotz großer Anfangsschwierigkeiten konnte die Hütte bereits 1956 zu einem 12-Hafen-Ofen erweitert werden. Durch das Zusammenwirken aller Familienmitglieder und der Mitarbeiter setzte eine kontinuierliche Aufwärtsentwicklung ein.

Erwin Eisch

Erwin Eisch ist Wegbereiter und geistiger Vater der Studio-Glas-Bewegung in Europa. Für die Glashütte ist er ein  wichtiger Impulsgeber und “Querdenker”.

Poesie in Glas

In Anlehnung an Erwin Eischs frei geblasenes Glas entstand 1977 die Unikatserie “Poesie in Glas”: Sammler- und Liebhaberstücke in fließenden Formen, die mit den verschiedensten Ofen- und Kaltglastechniken zu kunstvollen Objekten gestaltet wurden.

Nr. 1 unter den Glasherstellern

Die Glashütte Eisch erarbeitete sich einen hervorragenden Namen bei ihren Kunden. Bei der Wahl der bevorzugten Industriepartner durch den deutschen Glas-Porzellan-Fachhandel erreichte Eisch in den vergangenen zehn Jahren siebenmal den ersten Platz unter allen deutschen Glasherstellern.

Kanzler Besuch

1997 war der damalige Kanzler Helmut Kohl in der Glashütte Eisch zu Gast. Erwin Eisch überreichte ihm den gläsernen Porträt-Kopf „Helmut Kohl“.

Dritte Generation

Die Glashütte Eisch befindet sich auch heute vollständig in Familienbesitz und wird von der dritten Generation geführt. Julia Eisch und Eberhard Eisch bauen auf die vielfältigen Erfahrungen und das handwerkliche Wissen der Vergangenheit auf und richten das Unternehmen heute zu einem modernen und innovativen Glashersteller  aus.

SENSISPLUS Glas

Mit den SENSISPLUS Gläsern gelang der Glashütte Eisch ein Meilenstein in der Entwicklung von Weingläsern. Im SENSISPLUS Glas erlebt der Wein eine ungeahnte Entwicklung der Aromen, was in der Weinwelt Begeisterung und Erstaunen gleichermaßen auslöst. Eberhard Eisch beschreibt seine Erfahrung mit den SENSISPLUS Gläsern so: „Mit diesem Glas blicke ich in die Zukunft des Weines!“

Internationale Expansion

Mit einer konsequenten Marken-Strategie, die auf Individualität und Innovation setzt, ist die Glashütte Eisch auch auf Auslandsmärkten erfolgreich. Heute werden mehr als 50% der gesamten Produktion in über 60 Länder weltweit exportiert.

Ein kleiner Teil der Familie Eisch: Alfons Eisch, Julia Eisch, Eberhard Eisch, Florian Eichinger, Erich Eisch, Michael Eichinger, Lisa Eichinger
Ein kleiner Teil der Familie Eisch: Alfons Eisch, Julia Eisch (Tochter von Alfons Eisch), Eberhard Eisch (Sohn von Erich Eisch), Florian (Sohn von Julia Eisch), Erich Eisch, Michael und Lisa (Sohn und Tochter von Julia Eisch)